Horowhenua Honours Excellence

December 1, 2017




Outstanding voluntary service to the community has seen eight people and two organisations officially acknowledged at the Horowhenua Civic Honours Awards by Mayor Michael Feyen at the newly opened Te Awahou Nieuwe Stroom in Foxton.


Civic Honours awards were presented to:

Tony Strawbridge – a proud member of the Waitarere Beach community.

Gerald De Castro – a dedicated sporting enthusiast.

Christina Paton – a devoted public servant for around 20 years;

and Allan Little QSM – a true soldier for the community.


Certificates of Recognition were awarded to:

The late Rose Thompson - of Shannon Lions Club and Plunket Society.

Lew Rohloff – Horowhenua Grey Power Life Member.

Mel Chandler - A veteran of the sporting world;

Margaret Williams – of the Older Persons Network.

Sidney Anderson - Levin Music Society.


The Mayoral Award was presented to the Horowhenua Special Olympics Committee. 2017 marks the 30th year anniversary of the establishment of Special Olympics in the district.


In addition to the Civic Honours Awards, the Council’s 2017 Horowhenua Youth Excellence Scholarships were presented to 12 young people.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Fonterra to close Te Roto site and petition launched

September 26, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags